mtbr member
    Aug 2018

need help finding a saddle that is appropriate for my larger size

Hello fellow big guys..(and tall ladies?? whatever hello everyone)

So I have been riding again for a couple months now and the Giant Contact saddle on the Anthem 29er I was given... just ain't going to cut it... it is not comfortable..

I'm 6'3" 265lbs .. I would appreciate hearing works for all y'all for a saddle for the bigger guy.

thanx much indeed for any help..

cheers.

this is my bike::

need help finding a saddle that is appropriate for my larger size-answer810_3.jpg

mtbr member
    Jul 2005
    First - you are wearing padded cycling shorts, right? Lycra under baggy if you have to, but padded chamois, right?

Good. Then get down to your LBS and see if they can measure you for a saddle. It's where your bones are that is important - nothing else. I tend to have 155mm saddles on the road - but my go to mtb saddle is the SDG Bel Air and that seems to still be a good fit for my bones.

mtbr member
    Jun 2013
    That saddle looks very narrow, around 130 mm (though it's more likely around 140ish, picture is at a angle, so hard to tell). Also just flat. It's more about the overall shape and sitbone width than your size.

Read this, then measure your sitbones, then start looking and asking more specific questions so you can troubleshoot what type of saddle a little better.

Saddle Comfort and Bike Touring
    2018 Surly Karate Monkey 'dingle' speed
    2013 CAADX 105
    2012 Pinarello Quattro
    2002 Zurich LeMond

Nice day for a ride..... Moderator
    I'm a believer in the Specialized Body Geo saddles. A Specialized dealer can measure your sit bones and get you into the corresponding saddle width, sometimes they even have test saddles you can take home and try. FWIW, I have three Specialized saddles on my bikes, a Power on my gravel bike, Phenom on my trail bike, and Henge on my fat bike, all in 155mm width. They work great. I'd give it a look.

turtles make me hot