mtbr member
    Oct 2010

My First Official 100 Miles!

I'm very excited to report my first officially recorded 100 miles! This may seem minor to most riders but it's huge milestone for this out of shape and over weight 38yr. old Clydesdale lol

(Technically I'm probably closer to 120 miles but those extra miles took place before I was electronically logging my miles. )

It started out real slow, I thought I was accomplishing something doing 4-5 miles a week on a paved bicycle trail. I told the guys at my LBS I was aiming for 10 miles a week and they gave each other a funny look and took me good luck...awkward lol Well, I was determined to reach my 10 miles a week goal Damnit! So I started riding 5 days a week (Mon-Fri) doing atleast 1.5-2.5 miles per day. It wasn't long before I was doing 10-14 miles a week Then I discovered my new area was dotted with MTB trails. At first I was very hesitant about trying them out, for one thing each one is located 20-30 miles from the city one way and I was an experienced mtb rider. Well one day I said screw it, I'm basically retired and have the time. So I picked out a trail and have been riding it every since. Oh the first couple weeks was murder. Each day I was cursing enough to make a sailor blush lol The first part of the trail was only 1.8 miles almost flat but the switchbacks and roots etc was kicking my ass! I guess about the 3-4 week I was able to fly though the first beginners trail/loops and started adding new loops to my ride.

Anyhow, I'm now riding 3-7 miles a day (Mon-Fri) averaging 5.4 miles a day...the lower 3~ mile days are generally exploring difference loops It's been a long road, roughly 10 wks to reach this point and I plan to go further, hopefully 5-10 miles a day in the near future. It's a far cry from my younger days doing 15-20 miles a day on a BMX bike but I'm happy and I feel great.