mtbr member
    Sep 2005

Looking For a Wider Comfortable Saddle

Last year I had both of my hips replaced. It seems like the hip implants stick out wider a lil bit. So I am looking for a wider saddle.

Also, I am 270lbs and havent ridden in awhile so the more comfortable the saddle the better. I would install a banana seat if they made one for mtn bikes.

btw its going on a Kona Dawg Deluxe

I found this old relic from the '90s for sale

http://sandiego.craigslist.org/nsd/bik/2151638922.html

I'm Slow
    I see you only have one post so I'll be a little nice here. Please look around for some stickies first. Short version: Wider is worse. I know it seems weird, but you actually want a seat based on how wide your sit bones (some more info below) are. To give you an example I was fitted for a 155 wide seat, road that for awhile then went for a full fit. and they switch me to a 175 because my hips where still rocking. after my first 5 miles my butt hurt. now I've been riding for 2 years, and it hurt to sit in a chair after riding, switched back to the 155 no problems. So find a shop with a butt meter(I don't know the proper name) They have you set in a weird fetal position on some memory foam and that makes your sit bones stick out. They measure your bones, NOT how wide your butt is. So please read around the forum first and do some searches, this is a very common misconception.

For example I'm 5'9" 160lbs and 44" waist. I use a 155 (their mid range) I'm actually a 148, but they went the size up its worked great.

http://www.specialized.com/us/en/bc/...d=saddles_tech
    RideSAMBA.com Mountain Biking in South Alabama.

Mojo MadDuc

WTB Demo Saddles

JamF,