mtbr member
    Oct 2013

Looking for a good entry level bike

Hey guys, new to the forum, and this is my first post. I'm just getting in to biking again, so go easy on me, as I'm still learning the lingo.

I'll start by saying that I am 6'0" and I weigh about 350 lbs, so I'm not real tall, but I am real big. I've been riding on an old Wal-Mart Schwinn Jaguar for the past 2 months, and I've already probably put atleast 200 miles on it and dropped 50 lbs in the process, but it's about to give up the ghost on me (no suprise, as big as I am and as much as I've been riding it.) The rims are far out of true, and the breaks are dragging because of it, which makes for a tough ride. I go as easy as I can on it. I mostly ride paved trails, ranging from 5 miles to 20 miles at a time, but I also ride through my neighborhood, and the streets can be pretty rough in certain stretches with lots of pot-holes (typical Michigan roads...).

I've been looking at getting a mountain bike with a front suspension, and yesterday, I found a GT Avalanche 3.0 on my local Craigslist. It caught my attention because a good friend who I've been riding with most of the time has an Avalanche 2.0. He was my size when he bought it, and he's had decent luck with it so far, though he has replaced the crank set and the wheels, but it should be noted that he was riding pretty hard off-road when those components failed on him. The bike was listed at $300 or best offer. Initially, the guy told me it was a 2.0, so I had planned on going to check it out today and I was going to offer him $250 if it looked to be in good shape, but he messaged me today about an hour before I was going to look at it to tell me he was mistaken and it was actually a 3.0. I told him I would have to hold off on checking it out until I did a little more research.