mtbr member
    May 2009

Kona Hoss or 29er

I am fairly new to mountain biking and am looking to purchase my first real bike. I am having a problem deciding between a 29er (felt, kona, GF, or Niner) and a Kona Hoss. I am 6'4" and about 255 lbs (trying to get down to 220). I will be riding all sorts of trails mostly of an intermedaite level. I want a bike that can take a beating but still can single track uphill........

Please offer any opinons to help get me off the fence.....

Thanks!!

Former Bike Wrench
    I would without any hesitation recommend a 29er with at least the Tora Race/318 Solo Air fork (avoid the Dart). Look for a robust wheelset (32 spoke, 14 ga or 14/15ga double butted spokes, stout rims) and larger 2.2"+ tires.

The Hoss is kind of overkill for you at "only" 255lbs plus the DJ2 fork is not a great trail fork (its a Dirt Jump fork, hence the name).

mtbr member
    May 2009
    Any recommendations on a 29 HT. My budget is around $1500. I was looking at a 09 Kona Kahuna with a Reba fork for $1100. I appreciate any insight...

Fat boy Mod Moderator
    i've been extreamly pleased with my surly karate monkey and tora fork on it... $1500 will build a nice bike....

the biggest thing is how you fit on the bike though...
    - Surly Disc trucker
    - '82 trek 560 roadie

Former Bike Wrench
    I would test ride a few if possible...the other brands you mentioned all make models in your price range such as the Felt Nine Comp, GF Cobia, or a Niner EMD built up would be good choices as well.

mtbr member
    May 2009
    I have been running around to all the LBS in So Cal. Unfortunately there have been few in my size in stock to demo. I may be leaning toward the Kona Big Kahuna...I found it for 20% off...I have always suffered from a lack of patience. I am trying to be smart with this investment. Can it end up being less expensive to buy a frame seperately and build it up? I have seen a good deal on a Ventanna El Padrino....