mtbr member
    Jul 2006

Is Karate Monkey SS Complete Bike a good place to start?

Hey Guys, this is my first post so be gentle. I'm 49 years old and hit the scales at 260 lbs. I'm 6'0" tall and have a 30" inseam. Looking to get back in shape after many years of having no fun. I want to do level trail/bike path riding. Sometimes gravel fire roads also.

Now my question. Would a Surly Karate Monkey SS Complete Bike be a good starting point? I see them sold at different internet bike sites. Are the components stout enough for a large total newbie. The price point is right for me. Would I have to upgrade parts before I can ride? I hope I'm not breaking any Forum Rules if post the link to what I'm talking about. Thanks in advance for your help.

http://www.jensonusa.com/store/produ...lete+Bike.aspx

rock crusher
    Aug 2008
    The KM has a reputation as a solid bike, and for some it is a good place to start. As it is a single speed, there are some inherent differences from a standard "geared bike" that you should be aware of. Not that it should shy you away, but SS's are not for everyone. I could see it turning off someone who is working to get back into shape if it is not geared properly for your ability and your local terrain of choice.

The KM can be switched over to a geared bike, which will take some $$ as well, but is possible. Generally, SS's can be great for around town, or great on steep trails, but you are often compromising to fit into both categories, or whatever is in between. IMO, for a first bike a geared bike is a better choice, and the SS makes a nice addition to the stable later on. However, if the terrain near you is completely flat, the SS may be the ticket.

Fat boy Mod Moderator
    I'm a 300# guy and ride a KM... it's a GREAT frame/fork for a big guy to get into the 29er thing with IMHO...