Rollin' on 29s!

How much sidewall flex is normal when on bike?

I know there are lots of tire pressure threads here, but I'm looking for more subjective info. A couple of rides ago, I had the front tire blow out on me. Happened after a tight corner where the front wheel slid out from under me. I think the wheel must have rolled off the rim a bit and the tube got pinched. About 30 feet later she blew, and tire got jammed up in the front fork. Almost caused me to endo.

I think I was running about 40-45 psi in the tire, according to my pump gauge, and I weigh about 285lbs. Rim is a Bontrager SuperStock Disc 29, tire is a Bontrager Jones XR 29x2.25" (front wheel).

From some of the threads here, this seemed like an ok pressure. But, I did notice that when I sat on the bike and bounced up and down on it and turned the wheel, that there was a lot of sidewall flex and rippling. I was kind of concerned about that, but since I'm a newb, and from what I had read in other threads, it seemed maybe ok, especially with the 29er big wheels. How much of that flexing is "normal"?

Now I run closer to 60 psi (according to my pump gauge). That seems really high, but I can still squish them in with my thumb, and when I sit on the bike and bounce, I don't see any alarming ripples in the sidewalls that make me think the tire is going to come off. The tire still bulges out a little from my weight, but it looks about right to me. Is this a good way to subjectively judge if I'm running a good tire pressure?

banned