mtbr member
    May 2009

Help with work out routine

Not sure if this is were I should post this but anyhow, I am a firefighter and I have been transfered to a station that has no exercise equipment. At my old station we had a nice elliptical trainer and some free weights so I could get a good workout in.

So my question, what are some good workout with no equipment? I am looking for suggestions for books, web sites, etc that others have tried and liked. I have a road bike and I am looking into getting a trainer for use at the station that would take care of the cardio but I would like to do more core workout stuff. Thanks in advance for all the help.

mtbr member
    TRX is amazing, but expensive ($300ish). Check it out on youtube.

No equip: Planks, Squats, forward and side lunges, pushups, leg lifts, crunches, bicycles, ...
    cheap stuff: dumbbells, medicine ball, kettle bell,

Johnny Dependable
    Interval training! Stuff will kick your butt! All you need is a $15 timer. http://www.bodyrock.tv/

Also, I really like the perfect pushup and perfect pullup (be sure to get the optional ab straps). They are about $25 each at walmart.

mtbr member
    Feb 2011
    Perfect pushup device are a must buy for the little $$ they cost. I have the walmart version, they work fine! Just make sure you get the real perfect push up brand. They do make a huge difference that you will feel.

I have had a Total Gym since about 97ish (I was a teen) and its good considering it can fold up and fit in a closet or in the corner and not take up much space. I should use it more than I do, basement is a mess and I really can't get to it. Soon I hope.

P90X is supposedly a good system too.

mtbr member
    Squats. But if there's enough space you could maybe bring your bike and a trainer or rollers...

mtbr member
    Rope skipping is good cardio too.

mtbr member
    Sep 2009
    Quote Originally Posted by en3chix