mtbr member
    Jun 2013

Help selecting new bike

Hi Folks, newbie here, and just recently started getting (back) into cycling again. I've been riding the heck out of my wall hanger, a 15 year old Trek 950, and it's starting to fall apart now. Pedals starting to go, crank goes clickety-click, gear front and rear are a little chewed up. The wheels (Mavic 217 - the stock ones kept tacoing on me) have seen better days. Love the bike, but don't really want to invest hundreds of dollars into a 15 year old bike.

So, here we go:
    6'7", 325 lbs (down from 366 1/1/2013)
    34" inseam
    Riding mostly paved roads, packed trails, some gravel here and there.
    Current bike has a 22" frame and 24" top tube. I already have the seat all the way back, and the handlebar is set pretty far forward (see pic). I definitely feel a longer ETT would fit me better.

Looking for a 26"/66 cm ETT hardtail MTB / cross country / whatever, budget is $1000. If I have to go to stronger wheels than stock, I'd still like to stay under a grand.
    Second problem is, that at least on my current bike, I feel really unstable when my cadence goes up (above 70 or so). Maybe it's due to my seating position (I'm still way forward even with the seat all the way back), or because it's just an old bike, but it has me worried about the gearing of the new bike. Tallest gear for me is currently 44 front / 11 back.

Looked at Trek Wahoo / Marlin / Mamba, although the Mamba would break the budget if I have to get stronger wheels.
    Looks like a Specialized Rockhopper 29 would fit the bill, but I recall my friend had Rockhopper in 26" and would fold the wheels quite a bit. Would the 29 be strong enough for me (no actual rockhopping) ?
    Raleigh Talus XL felt too small.

Can you guys recommend any other bikes the would fit my criteria ?

mtbr member