mtbr member
    Mar 2014

Hello! Noob here needing advice.

Hello this is my first time posting on this website. I'm a 5'11 368lbs male looking to correct my life by dropping pounds. I haven't ridden a bike since I was 12 or so. I have researched my things about bike for big guys, however everything I have read is a bit confusing. What would be a good starting point in finding a bike for me. thank you

Also is the is bike worth looking at as was suggested by my LBS: Fuji Bikes | MOUNTAIN | SPORT - HARDTAIL | NEVADA 29 2.1

mtbr member
    Welcome, biking is a great way to shed the pounds while having a ton of fun.

Is your budget around the price of this Fuji? The wheels have 36 spokes which is a good thing for added strength as opposed to the common 32 spokes. The fork has 75mm of travel which is okay, but 100mm would be better for soaking up more weight. A lot of it depends on the type of trails you'll be doing though. The wheels are also 29" in diameter so it will ride differently than a 26" wheeled bike, and there's plenty of debate over which is better for what conditions.

mtbr member
    The rear hub is a spin-on type which leaves a large portion of the axle unsupported by bearings. I can almost guarantee you will bend or break the axle. The front fork looks quite suspect too depending on how and where you plan to ride.

Truth be told, you probably need to step up your budget to about $500 minimum for a new bike that will hold up and provide you some fun and reliable riding.
    Former bicycle mechanic for 8 years, current soil scientist.

Blog

mtbr member
    Feb 2014
    I just did what your about to do. 6 foot 380lbs.
    1.go to the lbs and see what frame size you need a 29er will be a different size then a
    regular mountain bike.
    2 What do you want the bike to have. the two things I wanted were disk brakes and a
    lock front shock
    3.Then buy new or hit craigslist. It took me a month or so but I got a specialized