mtbr member
    Apr 2006

Heckler Alternative

I have been riding my Caffeine 29'er for a couple years now, but am now ready to purchase my first full suspension. I was very interested in the Heckler with the a coil shock, but the toptube falls short at 24.5". I was wondering what alternatives are out there that could accomodate a coil shock. I am 6"3 and weigh about 250, with a long torso, so I am looking for at least 25" on the tt.

Cracker
    I m 6 ' 5" 250 and have xl heckler that seems a little small for me\
    I am now riding a Banshee Rune xl which seems to fit me perfectly
    The heckler is very flexy for me and has a lot of pedal bob
    The Rune is a super stiff very very strong frame that pedals like a hardtail but is super plush and downhill is amazing
    ohh yeah i cracked my heckler swingarm 2 times (not a good frame for me)santa cruz just sent me whole new frame i guess im going to sell it
    take a look at the banshee its design its a vpp like the nomad but its cheaper a great all around bike
    It might get a little steep from here

Fat guy on a bike
    Kinda sucks these days as FS bikes, especially those with more than 4" suspension have pretty short TTs.

I am bigger than you and ride a Trek Fuel EX. The 09 has a TT of 25.3 for the 21.5" model. It will work

Fat guy on a bike
    The Specialized Pitch in XL as a 25.3" toptube also.

Edit: Oops, you want a coil huh... both will fit a coil but not come with one.

mtbr member
    Look at a Coiler, they make one in XXXL that would almost be too big for you. A very good match for the Heckler. I have a Dawg in XXL and at 6'2" and 260 also with a long torso it is perfect, I am very happy with it. I would have gotten a Coiler but I also have a Stinky so there was too much overlap.
    Beer, a Pork Chop in every can!

mtbr member
    Nov 2006
    If you go Ventana, you can get a beautiful, bombproof frame that will fit you, your shock, and whatever wheels you like to use.

Working Man's Toilet