mtbr member
    Jun 2014

Full Susser for Clyde???

Hi Guys,

New to the forum, first time post.

I'm a clyde. Currently about 275Lbs, was nearer 375 when i started riding.

I am thinking of changing / upgrading my bike.

I want a full susser, capable of holding my weight, enough travel to not bottom out on drops etc due to weight, for use on trail centres in UK and maybe a bit of all mountain on continent.

Im limited budget wise so would be probably looking at an older spec bike off of fleabay or here or pinkbike etc.

I'm 6ft 2, 30/31 inside leg, 275lbs + kit so about 285lbs ride weight. Need something stiff, don't care so much about weight of bike, need it to be up to the job. Stiff fork with good amount of travel to stop bottoming it out etc.

Cheers
    Steve
    Last edited by Steve Kozian; 06-11-2014 at 06:53 AM.

mtbr member
    Mar 2010
    I would suggest the kona process..i have last years model the orange one. iam 6'1 345 and have had great luck with it , love the bike zero problems .. the 2 things I did was change out the RS monarch on rear for a fox vanillia with a 750 coil and went to heavy springs on the front and added a aftermarket air cartridge and the thing is stout. Rode hard with it last summer including many trips to a Bike park with no problem , also felt hell of a lot better about the bike when all the rentals at the park were the same bike.

mtbr member

Full Susser for Clyde???

Hi Steve:
    Any of the current crop of all-mountain bikes should suit you. I tried out a Specialized Enduro, Rocky Mountain Slayer, a GT Force 3, and a Devinci Dixon and they all handled my weight once the suspension was properly aired up. I ended up picking the Dixon and have been thrilled with it. I'm 6'1" and 300lb so you'll be fine.

mtbr member