Scottish Rogue

Fork Suspension for the 300lb'er

I am 300 pounds and I am tired of the RS Dart3. Any suggestions for some one who doesn't want to break the bank?? I am riding alot of single track, hard pack, and a few trail with 3 foot max drops. The fork will be going on a Cannondale F5.

Any help will be greatly appreciated,

Justin

mtbr member
    Check out the Rockshox Tora 318. They're pretty cheap and are said to hold up to Clydes really well. I just bought a Solo Air for around $170. I've only have one ride on it, so I can't really comment on reliability, but so far it seems way better than the Manitou Axel I had on last.

Do a search here, you should find plenty of information.

BIG and Bald
    Check out the Marzocchi Dirt Jumper series. I've been riding a DJ 3 since 2006 and it has held up and performed extremely well under my 350+ frame.
    [SIZE="2"][SIZE="3"]Eat to Live[/SIZE][/SIZE]...[SIZE="3"]not the other way around[/SIZE]

Mouth-Breather / Huffer
    Quote Originally Posted by bvibert
    Check out the Rockshox Tora 318. They're pretty cheap and are said to hold up to Clydes really well. I just bought a Solo Air for around $170.
    Whoa! Only $170?! That's a bargain indeed!

The best I could come up with a few days ago was $210 @ Cambria:

http://www.cambriabike.com/shopexd.a...SION+FORK+2008

Dirt Deviant
    I'm really happy with my Manitou forks. I have a couple Nixon Super Air Plus forks that hold up really well. 145mm travel added the extra stiff spring kit.

Most recently I have picked up 2 different Minute forks. A 140mm with travel adjust which comes in really handy for the steep climbs....and a 120mm fork for my 5" travel bike.

Jenson has a 100mm travel model on sale right now. Note, it is a 20mm thru axle, so if you have a traditional quick release front wheel you'll need to get a new front wheel.
    http://www.jensonusa.com/store/produ...solute+08.aspx