Thread: fork mod.

mtbr member
    Oct 2013

fork mod.

I'm new to the whole mountain bike scene......have an extensive background in bmx..........

My biggest hurdle has been learning to trust all this aluminum and super light weight stuff......

My biggest issue at the moment is forks.....

I'm running a marzocchi bomber all mountain 3 fork...
    ?.....my biggest fear is breaking the aluminum steer tube.........

here is my idea........machine a steel insert and do a light press fit in to the stear tube............

maybe over kill ....but just lookin for alittle bit of reasurance...lol

FKA Malibu412

Yes, that's 3 skepticals

Don't worry. Unless the al steerer is compromised in some way from stress, it will stand up to normal riding and airing it out some. Planning to do huge air and drops? If so, a bigger bike with a double crown fork might be more suited.

Whatya planning to do?
    Everything that kills me, makes me feel alive

mtbr member
    Oct 2013
    Not planning to do anything spectacular.......lol

I rode vert ramps and did a lot of jumping back in the day so airtime doesn't scare me ...........until I got on a mountain bike I've never seen an aluminum steer tube on forks......scares the hell out a me , lol

FKA Malibu412
    The steer tube should be fine if riding the bike the way the fork is designed for. But hey, if you're handy with a lathe or know someone who is, have at it. Just be exact in determining tolerances for the press fit so the sleeve doesn't expand the steerer if too oversized or fall out on a ride and jam itself into the front tire if too small. It will add some weight which most mtber types are kinda sensitive to.
    Everything that kills me, makes me feel alive

mtbr member
    Quote Originally Posted by Glide the Clyde View Post
    The steer tube should be fine if riding the bike the way the fork is designed for. But hey, if you're handy with a lathe or know someone who is, have at it.