Thread: Foot Problems

mtbr member
    Jun 2007

Foot Problems

Hi,

I am 6' tall and 235 Lbs. I ride a full suspension Fuel 90.

I have been riding for many years at this weight without problems, but recently I am getting pain in the balls of my feet after being on the bike for 2+hours. I think the answer is stiffer shoes. Does anyone have a recommendation for good supportive shoes for fat guys?

Thanks
    DDXC

mtbr member
    I really like my Specialized BG Comp mtb shoe. Not the cheapest, but if they fit your foot they are great.

Bike Junkie
    For starters I happen to have flat feet. The ball of my foot will hurt and then after 2hrs it goes numb in the toes. I have ridden many shoes; but all the insoles are crap. I've put in some orthotics; but they are too thick. I've recently tried 2 types of insoles. The first was the Superfeet (green actually fits into my Sidi Dominators) and have had a good amount of comfort. The second was the Specialized BG insoles, these insoles helped the most.

I'm a fan of good arch support and another of the Spec. BG metatarsal button; but it's got to be big because you put a lot of pressure on your feet while riding.

I'm not sure if the Blue/Grey Superfeet are as good or worse than the greens that I had available at the time. The greens are supposed to be more support because they are for hiking shoes. But the Specialized BG insoles specifically state they are not for walking; but for cycling.
    See You On The Trails!

Fragglepuss The Chaste
    Quote Originally Posted by DDXC
    Hi,

I am 6' tall and 235 Lbs. I ride a full suspension Fuel 90.

I have been riding for many years at this weight without problems, but recently I am getting pain in the balls of my feet after being on the bike for 2+hours. I think the answer is stiffer shoes. Does anyone have a recommendation for good supportive shoes for fat guys?

Thanks
    DDXC