mtbr member
    Sep 2013

first post for first upgrades!

Hey fellas i have been lurking on the site for a while and finally decided to join in on some conversations. I have been riding my stock trek 4500 since 2011 and its done pretty well for me since then. I mostly ride trails with a mixture of sandy sections and small rocks and roots and the occasional small drop of maybe 1-3 ft. I have held off on upgrading anything on the bike because i wasn't sure if i would want to upgrade to a better all around bike. Eventually i found I'm very comfortable on this bike and think it can handle everything i can throw at it skill wise. The biggest problem comes from the fact that i'm 6'3 and 300#. the front fork recently started feeling...."clunky" and there seems to be more and more play in the lockout as time goes on. after doing some research it would appear there really isn't a xc fork suitable for the big fellas outside of stepping up to a very expensive fork or hoping i can find some extinct version on ebay. I had seen some people recommend switching to a DJ fork and that should be able to handle the weight of the bigger fellas better. So i was hoping to get a recommendation for a decent fork for this bike.... say $400 or less? Im not worried about making my bike to heavy im more interested in functionality and durability. Also if you guys could suggest a good set of wheels and tires for the bigger framed guys i would really appreciate it! It can be truly frustrating trying to find the right equipment to handle us big boys!

mtbr member

Re: first post for first upgrades!