mtbr member
    Jan 2009

Fat guy needs new forks

Im getting back into biking after a long time off (not by choice), and well I am fat now. I have an 04 giant nrs3 and I am looking for some new front shocks to take my weight. Im not looking to spend over 200.00 for them since I am not sure how biking will treat me this time around. I weight around 250lbs

mtbr member
    Apr 2011
    look for a torra air should be in price range and holds me when i was at 280 thankfuly now 264.

some know me as mongo
    Feb 2008
    yeap! Tora air is a great option for larger folks. Honestly anything from Rockshox, Manituo, or Marzocchi that is air will be great for us clydes.

Don't worry about the air spring at all. I have been running them for well over 10 years now and have only ever had one fail, and that was after years of hard riding. Not only that but it was a really easy fix as well.

Is dang happy!
    Hucknroll has a 100mm Marzocchi DJ2 for under $100 with the coupon code. Mine came with a bunch of stickers.
    The wheel is a extension of the foot

mtbr member
    Jan 2009
    Cool thanks guys, Ill look into them.

mtbr member
    Aug 2011
    Last year I bought a RockShox Tora 302(coil) for my Trek 8500 HT after I reccieved it as a warranty swap. A couple months later I put a RockShox Recon Silver (air) on my GF Cake FS. I bought what was the best deal for each at the time. The Bike Shop that did the frame warranty shop recommended the Recon, but I got a great deal on the Tora. I am very happy with both of them and I am about 290#.

Former Bike Wrench
    Quote Originally Posted by primestick View Post
    Im getting back into biking after a long time off (not by choice), and well I am fat now. I have an 04 giant nrs3 and I am looking for some new front shocks to take my weight. Im not looking to spend over 200.00 for them since I am not sure how biking will treat me this time around. I weight around 250lbs