Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Jun 2009

do i have to get a 29r?

ok im a newbe and i love this clydsdale forum im 6'3 230lbs and im looking for a bike at the 1000.00 mark. butt at that range im kinda thinking that i can get better stuff on a 26 inch bike. i can get a fuji 29r for 1000.00 but fuji isnt really known for offroad bikes and nobody ive talked to knows them either. or i can get a scott scale 60 for 1000.00 and it comes with hydrolic disc brakes and decent tranny stuff. plus it light. ive been borowing my friends bikes as im new to this but now im hooked and must own my own, but im torn on what i should buy. the 2 bikes in this range that i really like the scott i looked at today.

Not an O2 thief.
    Feb 2004
    You can get a tiny wheeled bike if you want. Just don't ride a 29er after you buy it.
    Roll over the weak and bunny hop the dead!

Blog this...!

El Paso Puzzler 35 or 50 miler

Former Bike Wrench
    The Fuji is a good 29er, look at the reviews on MTBR...that said, get what you want. You don't have to get a 29er...even though they're better

Mouth-Breather / Huffer
    I'm 6'2" and I ride a 29er.

I like it and see no reason for me to ever go back to a 26er. The smaller bikes are just too cramped for me and I have to do some funky things to get the right fit.

Nevertheless, you should get the bike that you feel works best for you.

BWG
    mtbr member
    Have you ever noticed that the heavier load a dumptruck has to carry the larger the diameter of the wheels? Why, because they roll over stuff better. We weigh more so bigger wheels make sense. Besides, tall dudes on 26ers with 3-foot seatposts and 1-foot stems look like dorks.
    Last edited by BWG; 06-06-2009 at 10:43 PM.

mtbr member
    Jun 2009
    i just posted in another thread butt i just test rode a diamondback overdrive pro in a 22 inch frame its on sale for 920.00 im thinking strongly about buying that tank come monday

mtbr member
    Feb 2008