Thread: Disc Grinding

mtbr member
    Mar 2013

Disc Grinding

I am an ultra newb and have no previous biking experience from my younger life so I am still figuring out a lot of this stuff. I am 6'9" 295lbs and own a 2013 Trek Cobia that is mostly stock except for saddle and handlebars. I am not doing anything extreme at all, I'm near Atlanta so mostly it's just basic trail riding (singletrack). I have fallen a few times but nothing major, but I keep having issues with my disc brakes rubbing the pads (is pads right?). So I am not sure if this is caused by something I can swap out or upgrade. I realize there are a million reasons that can probably make the discs rub against the pads, but I just want to know if this is a common issue with clydes.

Please let me know what else you guys need to know?

R.I.P. DogFriend
    It is possible to bend the rotor back to being true. You can use a specially designed tool, or a Crescent wrench works OK too. It takes a bit of experience to learn how much force it takes to bend the rotor enough, but not too much, but isn't terribly difficult. I have seen several new rotors that were not true from the get-go. I would try to true it yourself before buying a new rotor.

mtbr member
    Mar 2013
    I took it to my LBS for the rear rotor last time and they trued it up, and after the second ride since then my front rotor is now rubbing. I just don't want this to be a every two ride thing if its something I can upgrade.

My Brain Hurts!
    You say your brakes are rubbing. Are they rubbing constantly? Or is it like the rotor is warped?
    If it is a constant, the LBS should be able to adjust it pretty quickly and get it right the first time.
    If you are warping the rotors, I'd look at a better brake rotor or braking system. I am not sure, but many times stock items on bikes are not always as good as they should, or could be.