Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    mtbr member
    Feb 2011

Difficulty with clipless pedals-I need help!

About 8 years ago I tried switching from straps to clipless pedals. I tried loosening the tension, but still had difficulty getting out in a hurry, like a short, steep technical climb through rock when your tire hits something and stops!

After falling about 20 times in 3 days, almost breaking my wrist and dislocating my left shoulder (I seem to prefer to fall to my left) I gave up and went back to straps.

I haven't ridden much in the past 6 years and I'm getting a new bike (probably a Tallboy, Jet9, Rip9 or Pivot429-I need to demo a couple more before deciding) and I want to give clipless pedals a try again.

I'm 6'4" 250 lbs and do a lot of core and balance workouts at the gym so for my size, I'm pretty coordinated. I'm a surgeon and need my hands or I'm screwed, so breaking an arm or dislocating a shoulder is not worth it to me, but I prefer not to be the only one with toe straps on the trail (I seem to be able to pull straight back out of these VERY quickly).

Any advice on pedal options or what to try are greatly appreciated.

Ride Responsibly
    Try a pedal like the Time Atak or the Crank Bros Egg Beater Candy. No tension screw to worry about. Practice on a lawn. Think "Heel". Always go heel first to the ground.
    Do not put out your hand to catch you, just land on your side.

turtles make me hot
    I'm 6'4", 260 pounds. I like Eggbeaters. Super simple and I step in and out like flats. After the initial toe clip to clipless hardship period, they've become effortless.
    I like turtles

S-Mart's Top of the Line
    Jul 2008
    Quote Originally Posted by LWright
    Do not put out your hand to catch you, just land on your side.
    QFT!!!! One of my riding buddies sprained his wrist and tore his ACL after losing his balance on a seesaw and trying to catch himself, and he's not even a clyde. If you're going down, just take the hit on the side.