mtbr member
    Apr 2005

Crankset and headset question

Hello...

I am a beginner xc rider who weighs 240 and is 6'1" with a 34" inseam. I recently transfered all my components from a 20.5" Trek 4500Disc to a 19" Kona King Kikapu FS frame with Marz comp 105mm fork and 26" wheels. I am wanting to upgrade my crankset at this time since they are 170mm and I feel they are too short.

For the info I have given, should I be riding a 175mm or 180mm crankset? I am looking into the Truvativ Stylo's but dont not know what model and BB will fit? Also, Should I be looking at 44/36/24 or 44/32/22?

I also need to order a Cane Creek headset. I see a variety of different models and don't know what will fit.

Can someone please help. Thanks...

local trails rider
    I like Shimano cranks. Even the nicely priced ones seem to work well. I think there's still LX mtb cranks/BBs (Hollowtech2) around for pretty good prices, or you could try the newer SLX. I think crank length is not all that critical, as long as you don't use cranks that are TOO long.

I think 44/32/22 is pretty standard, unless you want only two rings.

Headsets... I usually go to the LBS and they ask me if I want the cheap one or the one that is better shielded against the elements...

Former Bike Wrench
    The Stylo's are a good crankset, and they should come with the GXP bottom bracket. You'll want the 3.3 if your looking for a triple chainring setup.

You need a standard threadless 1 1/8" S series headset from Cane Creek. The S-3 represents a great deal and they get better from there.

SS XC Junkie
    I just did an S-3 on my SS 29er. It was nicely priced and it seems to work well. I like the sealed bearings too.

mtbr member
    Apr 2005
    Quote Originally Posted by perttime