mtbr member
    Jan 2009

Coming outta the Clyde cabinet

Hi,

I am new to this bike business and need some advice folks.

I am getting an import from a german manufacture called CUBE, and the two bikes I am deciding between are the

LTD COMP DISC
    http://www.cube-bikes.de/xist4c/web/..._id_31071_.htm

or

LTD COMP PRO
    http://www.cube-bikes.de/xist4c/web/..._id_31070_.htm

I am around 130KG or 280lbs, and am concerned about the shocks, and need to know what would be better for me, either the

Rock Shox Tora SL Solo Air 100mm, PopLoc
    Rock Shox Tora SL Coil 100mm, PopLoc

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Fat boy Mod Moderator
    haha I love how well the web page "translates" always seems to be a problem with German web pages... haha guess i should have learned the language while I lived there.

the tora seems to be a good fork for us big guys... i'm a touch fatter then you @ 14 stone and run a solo air on my 29er... the fork is said to be pretty stiff vs the lighter weight offering of rockshox and when you're our weight the extra weight of the fork is well worth the stiffness...

for the coil model a few people have talked about them, a quick search should show you what you're looking for.... problem with coil only forks is you typically can't get springs stiff enough for people our weight... on the air forks you just pump it up till you've got proper sag and roll away....

side note... the hayes strokers aren't known to be that amazing of a brake... you may want to look at not having to import... I hear rave reviews about HOPE (heck i'm using their hubs)... also might want to peek at on-one bikes... a steel frame is a nice thing for guys our size...

good luck on your search and welcome to the club
    - Surly Disc trucker
    - '82 trek 560 roadie

Making fat cool since '71