mtbr member
    Aug 2014

Coil vs Air Shock on Low End RockShox XC32

Hey Guys,
    I'm currently at 275 lbs, and trying to decide on a 2015 Trek X-Cal 8 which has a RockShox XC32 Coil Spring or a Trek X-Cal 9 which has a RockShox XC32 Air Shock.

Which shock do you think would hold up better?

mtbr member

Coil vs Air Shock on Low End RockShox XC32

Air, without a doubt. For your weight, a coil is ill advised.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Not only is my short term memory horrible, but so is my short term memory.

mtbr member
    Jun 2014
    I recently bought an Airborne seeker with a RockShox Recon air fork. I am 250 lbs. Not that I am an expert, but based on the advice I got here, stay away from coil forks unless you ride street/fire roads only. The Recon is about the lowest good performing fork for someone our weight. I am very happy with its performance and the air allowed it to stiffened to my weight. I rode my son's Specialized Hardrock with a coil fork and the difference is night and day. Also, coil forks come with medium weight springs, so at the very least you will have to buy a heavy duty spring and change it out. Then the damping will probably be too weak. The Recon has air to get the spring right and adjustable damping to match up with the air pressure. Once I got it set right after a couple of days, I haven't even thought about it, it just works well. My advice for you as a clyde is find another bike that comes with an air fork with adjustable damping, otherwise you will not be happy on rough terrain.

mtbr member
    Aug 2014
    Thanks for the suggestion. I'll definately go for the airshock. Bttocs, I guess it would be better to come up with the extra $400 for a Stache 7, which comes with a RockShox Recon air fork?

turtles make me hot
    Yeah, buy the better bike with the better fork if you can.