mtbr member
    Jun 2009

Clydes that are weight lifters, have a question

Hey, i am still pretty new to trail riding, so i still get pretty sore, even though i work out regularly.

when should i incorporate my leg workout, day before, day after, is it okay to do the same day? waht do you guys do and how does it impact your riding performance

AZ
    banned
    I dont know about others but I do a leg workout and then do a very easy ride spinning little gears just to keep the blood circulating .

Fat guy on a bike
    I would wait till the day after riding, and ride at least on the second day after lifting. You need recovery time for both.

mtbr member
    Just remember that if you are lifting weights AND riding you could run into over training issues if not careful. I used to lift weights and I ride now but I never did both at the same time so I am not sure the answer. I would listen to your body. Do you ride everyday. I agree that you should skip days in between. I am lucky that my legs are my easy to respond body part and I don't have to lift as riding alone makes them huge.

mtbr member
    Just get as much time in between the two activities as possible. The more recovery time the better. If you can wait 48 hours wait 48 hours. If you have to do both on the same day then lift in the morning and then ride in the afternoon or vise versa. I tend to like weights prior to sporting activity as opposed to after because I feel that running, jumping, cycling takes more away from weightlifting than does weightlifting from whatever activity I need to do.
    Retribution Fitness: Strength, Power, and Purpose
    General fitness workouts posted daily.

mtbr member