mtbr member
    Mar 2006

Clyde pushing 300lbs looking for suggestions under $600.

I am complete noob to biking and haven't been on a bike since high school, an 88 giant iguana I believe. I have been looking at bikes and I have somewhat narrowed it down but I am concerned due to my weight. I am 6'0 and just about 300lbs. Out of the few bikes I have looked at the Trek 4500 has stood out, but I have only been on a very quick test ride on the 4500, a 2005 Fischer Marlin now sold, and a Fischer Wahoo. The 4500 has been the best fit but before I take the leap I am wondering if I will have problems with the bike due to my weight. This shop only deals in Fischer and Trek, but there is another shop, not so friendly, that carries Specialized and Raliegh and another one that carries Giant, GT and Schwinn.

The one shop is also supposed to be getting in a 4900 to give a test ride also and possibly a Fischer Piranha.

I would like to stay under $500 not including tax if possible, but if I must I can go $600-700. I figure for my first bike I would rather start off on the cheaper side.

Don't skid
    I am not sure how 'clyde' worthy they are, but my friend just ordered a Woodstock 505. He had the same price range as you and it will be his first real bike. For that money the Woodstock is hands down the best deal (at least component wise). It should get here tomorrow or the next day. I try to post letting you know what I think of it.
    The Revolution will not be motorized...especially at $5 per gallon.

mtbr member
    Aug 2005