mtbr member
    Nov 2004

Clyde looking for a strong budget wheelset

I just got myself a 2010 Anthem X3 and I'm loving it! However, I can see these wheels are not going to last long at all (Mavic 117 & cheap Shimano hubs). One ride and they were both slightly out of true. I know they need to be trued and tensioned after an initial break in, but ONE ride!
    I've been using Ryno Lites with XT hubs for the past 4 years with no problems. Love these wheels but I hate the ugly silver brake pad section on an otherwise all black wheel. So I'm looking for a disc specific wheelset that is similar. I found some Sun Single Track wheel set below that I'm considering:

http://www.jensonusa.com/store/produ...t.aspx?sc=FRGL

Are there any other suggestions on a decent wheelset in this price range? I looked at Crossrides but I'm not too sure about them. The look great, but do they really hold up as well as a Sun wheel set? And how difficult are they to work on. I just like stuff that works. Suggestions would be appreciated.

$200 range
    I'm 250lbs, 6' 2"
    Mostly XC and technical decsents. Nothing crazy.

mtbr member
    Feb 2004
    I have a rear Sun Single Track on my 26 and it's held up fine. I'm ~240lbs and ride em rough over SEPA rocks & roots.

Former Bike Wrench
    Handbuilt and solid

$155-$175 depending on the color or spokes and nipples you want

http://www.bicyclewheelwarehouse.com.../prod_141.html

mtbr member
    Nov 2004
    Quote Originally Posted by mtnbiker72
    Handbuilt and solid

$155-$175 depending on the color or spokes and nipples you want

http://www.bicyclewheelwarehouse.com.../prod_141.html
    NICE find! Thanx for the info. I'll have to check them out after I do a bit of research on a proper wheel for my size and use.

R.I.P. DogFriend
    Quote Originally Posted by shwndh
    NICE find! Thanx for the info. I'll have to check them out after I do a bit of research on a proper wheel for my size and use.