mtbr member
    Mar 2009

A clyde and his clipless pedals

I wanted to ask my fellow clydes a question. I am 6'1" and 345lbs...is this too much for clipless? I have a pair of wide Lake shoes and speedplay frog pedals...i'm just wondering with my weight...it looks like i'll snap those little itty pedals lol...any other big clydes have experience going clipless?

BIG and Bald
    I've been riding a pair of Time Atac Z's for the past 4 years with absolutely no problems at all and I've got you beat by 30-40lbs (depending on the time of year ). I've also riden them at as high as 400!!!

Good pedals, easy maintenence, super durability. Pricepoint.com typically has the best prices on them. IMO, avoid the Crank Bros. Mallets. These were my first pedals and I broke 3 pair in less than a year before I switched.
    [SIZE="2"][SIZE="3"]Eat to Live[/SIZE][/SIZE]...[SIZE="3"]not the other way around[/SIZE]

Making fat cool since '71
    You may experience issues with bearings regardless of what pedals. Stay away fron Crank Bros though. I'm 255ish and have broken a few spindles and had reliability issues (they have great service though...). The ATACS are a good clyde choice. I've heard mixed reviews re:frogs and clydes.

Brock...
    Are the wheels roundish? Ride it.

Disciples Of Dirt, come ride with us.

Fat boy Mod Moderator
    i'm rolling nashbars and not to far off your weight... got em used and they are still going strong (the old ritchey type models)... used entry level shimano spds in the past... i won't touch crank bros... but want to try out TIME pedals
    - Surly Disc trucker
    - '82 trek 560 roadie

mtbr member
    I'm down to 260 from 280 last summer and I rode all summer on Crank Bros mallets with no problems. Sorry to hear others haven't had as good of luck - but glad to hear the customer service is good if I ever need it.

Fat boy Mod Moderator