mtbr member

Clyde Conditioning

Well Im still new to mtbing so i expect some of my current obstacles to be conquered over time. That being said i am still finding climbing extreamly difficult. I have talked to a bunch of people about form and technique so I am ruling those out.

What are some of the best ways you guys condition yourselves for those long uphill battles?

mtbr member
    Sep 2012

Clyde Conditioning

Just keep riding. Know how far you made it up the hill last time and go farther each time.

Vincit qui patitur
    I always used speed and downshifted as needed.
    Now I have gotten to the point where I upshift at times.
    Climbs to me do suck but keep plugging away at it.
    I does get better.
    Except it's gotten harder for me since I gain back some of what I lost.
    I quit dipping snuff after 37 years.
    Vincit qui patitur
    2012 GT Karakoram 3.0
    2012 Salsa Spearfish 2
    2014 KONA Process 153
    2013 Giant Defy
    2012 Access TCL

mtbr member
    Jul 2005
    What technique do you use? Are you a masher or a spinner? Is it a FS bike? How is your saddle set? Tell us what you do then we have a starting point!

mtbr member
    I find that to be better at climbing you need to get out and climb. Hit every hill you can hit. The ones you can't ride, try to get a little further each time. Those you can, climb faster or in a harder gear. Eventually things get easier. I also found that my climbing has dramatically improved after getting a single speed. I'd love to do some climbs on a geared bike now just to see how much difference there is. I'm not much for technique. I stay seated until it gets to hard then I stand. I mash the pedals and pull up on the opposite side grip.

mtbr member
    I found I became a better climber on my mountain bike after I got a road bike. But practice makes perfect (playing with positioning, gearing, etc).