Prodigy321
    Jul 2009

Clipless for a money conscious semi-clyde newbie

Alright, I need some input here as I have no experience with clipless (just platforms). I ride XC and am expecting to do more endurance in the future (ride about 15miles a day now). I weigh about 210 (normal feet; not wide or narrow) and want to purchase a complete clipess setup. I am however on a budget and would like to keep the price as low as possible without going cheap. Any thoughts on what will hold up for me, and what to stay away from?

Budget would be under 100 (under 50 would be killer) for pedals

Also I have heard about platform/clipless (all-in-one) pedals that appear to be both, but I want to make sure they truly function like both and don't have any sole protrusions.

Your help is greatly appreciated.

mtbr member
    http://www.pricepoint.com/detail.htm?stylePkey=11563

those are the pedals I'd get. Pricepoint also has bundles with shoes, might be just the ticket if they have one with a shoe you like.

I've used CB mallets, and... They worked ok when riding with flat shoes. I could feel the clip mechanism, but it didn't bother me. They were absolutely useless for riding unclipped with a bike shoe with a cleat mounted however. The last ride I did on mine, the 'eggbeater' part failed, got stuck open, so I couldn't clip in. I had to finish on the platform part; I don't think I could say the grip was any better than if I were just riding on eggbeaters (with no platform at all). Pretty much turned me off the whole idea of platform/clipless.

Former Bike Wrench
    Quote Originally Posted by Joules
    http://www.pricepoint.com/detail.htm?stylePkey=11563

those are the pedals I'd get. Pricepoint also has bundles with shoes, might be just the ticket if they have one with a shoe you like.
    +1

Fat boy Mod Moderator