mtbr member
    Dec 2005

Broke my Mach429 - Looking for a new frame

I have been riding a Pivot Mach429 for about 3 years. I LOVE that bike. But after 3 years of hauling my lard ass around -I found cracks at the bottom of the seat tube and the DW Link mount below the seat tube. Yes I've already replaced that frame but that process has me looking for another bike.

I had my eye on the Thumper frame and even had one on order before they closed that shop. I'm looking for recommendations for a good performing frame that will hold up under a 230 lb 6'4" not so smooth rider. The frame that looks best right now is a Niner RIP 9. Any comments on performance or longevity under a clyde? Any other frame you would recommend.

BTW - I have found that anything with QR axles don't work for me. I flex them enough to rub the tires on the frame or forks just by mashing.

mtbr member
    Apr 2011
    Lots of threads on mtbr regarding fs bikes for big guys.

Yeti sb95
    Banshee Prime
    New Banshee Phantom
    Niner RIP or WFO

mtbr member
    Oct 2012
    I'm on my third WFO frame right now, and as of last week it is starting to get the tell-tale "click" that have heard the last two times I've cracked the frame. I inspected it after my ride yesterday, but can't see any noticeable cracks. I'm afraid this one isn't going to last much longer.

I'm bummed to hear your 429 is cracking. That was my next bike, but if you're breaking it at 230lbs, I'm surely going to have similar problems at my weight.

Test rode a C-dale Tigger 29er 1 a couple months ago. The factory rep said it would hold my weight, and they would honor the lifetime frame warranty. That's pretty tempting right there alone...

mtbr member
    Nov 2008