mtbr member

Good job! Breakthrough Moments (long)

So, about three weeks ago, I finally got out the bikes that were sitting in the barn, unused, for the last four 6 years. I was overweight, out of shape and generally desperate to change my lifestyle. My wife and I started riding. We did a few five mile loops on pavement and realized that we actually could do this. What's more, we found that we really enjoyed biking together! I installed bike computers so we could start to track our mileage and hopefully see improvement.

Wanting to get away from the crowded park full of screaming kids, soccer games and power walkers we ventured to a local state park. There, we found a 4 mile road loop with two large hills (probably not too large by other people's standards) as well as a six mile (3 each way) dirt bike path with about a 1/3 mile of single track each way. Again, these aren't hard trails, but for us, they represent a way to get in shape. I used to be very good on a bike but years of not using these skills had made them rusty. While my wife had done a lot of biking in her youth, she had never gotten off road. Therefore, we're learning together. However, I still felt out of shape. I never really felt that I improving my stamina or gaining muscles. I may have been impatient but I was starting to get frustrated.

Last weekend, I decided that the cage pedals I was using were simply not working for me. I have wide feet and the cages were pinching my foot. Not to mention they were hard to escape from if I needed to put a foot down. So I got clipless pedals and shoes. What a difference. I also ordered my wife some new pedals.