Big Mtn Biker
    Jul 2007

New question here. Bike and Wheel advice

Having always had a hardtail I have played with the idea of retiring my Cannondale CAAD 2 F400 Hardtail that I bought in 1998 (I think) for a full suspension ride. My concern is whether or not the full suspension handle my weight (6'4 285 lbs)? I have no experience with full suspension so I don't really know their capabilities but have heard nothing but good things about them. Is there one better than the others? or is just personal preference? I have been told to look into 29ers but don't know anything about them. Wouldn't bigger wheels be easier to flatten out??? Any rim advice to handle a heavy and hard rider?? Any and all advice welcomed and appreciated!!! I

smw
    pedal pusher
    Quote Originally Posted by bigmtnman
    Having always had a hardtail I have played with the idea of retiring my Cannondale CAAD 2 F400 Hardtail that I bought in 1998 (I think) for a full suspension ride. My concern is whether or not the full suspension handle my weight (6'4 285 lbs)? I have no experience with full suspension so I don't really know their capabilities but have heard nothing but good things about them. Is there one better than the others? or is just personal preference? I have been told to look into 29ers but don't know anything about them. Wouldn't bigger wheels be easier to flatten out??? Any rim advice to handle a heavy and hard rider?? Any and all advice welcomed and appreciated!!! I

Check out the Yeti 575 in Xl, nice big and sturdy. You can choose the rear shock that best suits you and your riding style. The Mavic 823's are a great wheel, or the Easton Havocs. Im 6'4 and ride an XL 575. After buying 4 other full suspension bikes I was finally happy when I got the 575.
    Gears and suspension are for girls and old men. Feel free to quote me in your signature. - Fast Eddy

mtbr member
    Apr 2007
    The Kona Dawg can handle you, no problems.