mtbr member

Bigger Disadvantage When Racing - Clydes or Singlespeeders

In case it isn't obvious from the title, I am a bigger fella riding a singlespeed, planning to enter my first race or two this year. I am drawn more towards the endurance type races than XC but I plan to try an XC race with a defined beginning and end as well. The endurance one is easy, as it doesn't have a clydesdale category and does have an SS option. But for the XC races I am a bit torn on whether I should register in the SS or clydesdale category. I hope to ride in cat 2 just because a 7-8 mile ride doesn't really do it for me (by that point I'm just getting started). I figure if I start near the back I won't really get in anyone's way, and probably won't finish so late that its a burden to the people running the race. This isn't really a competitive thing for me - I have done a couple cyclocross races and I really like the atmosphere, so I figured why not try a MTB race also. But I would like to register in the category that I would be most competitive in, if that makes sense.

My hunch is that my size is a bigger disadvantage than my lack of gears unless it is on a ridiculously flat course. I'm not sure even a 100 speed bike could make up for the fact that my lungs can't get enough oxygen to my muscles. But I'd like to hear other people's thoughts on the subject.

Thanks in advance,

Alex
    Yeah I only carry cans cause I'm a weight weenie.

mtbr member
    I'm a big guy, too. The thing I don't like about the Clydesdale category is that it pits fat young guys with fat old guys. A fat 24-year-old likely is going to be stronger than a fat 55-year-old all things considered (in a venue where people are competitive enough to want to race).

In many races I've been in, singlespeed is at least separated into age groups, which makes it way more fair in my opinion.
    "You'll thank me when it's all said and done"

mtbr member