mtbr member
    Jun 2013

Big guys...a little help plz :)

after some forum searching, I think i found the right group. i just need a few questions answered by other ppl who are 300+ guys.

I already know what size bike i need, however I have no experience with this stuff and i dont want to drop $1000.00, to wreck a bike and ruin it because i weigh too much.

I read about some shocks wearing out after 170 lbs and such and that kinda stuff scares me because Im 2x that weight...Im not rich and it took me a while to save up this cash.

I found this bike

IBEX BICYCLES

Will this bike support my weight trail riding? theres a lake near by me that has some decent sized hills, creeks to cross, rocks and some of the area is pretty rough. on a scale of 1 - 10, (1 being my driveway, and 10 being a professional course) I think its a 3 or 4.

If this is not a good choice, why? what parts should i be looking for? (frame material and shockcs, brakes ect)

Like i said, I did do some searching. a few hours actually. But this is all a different language to me. I'd be happy if you said:

"I am 6' and weight over 300lbs and I ride this and it's in your price range and holds up just fine"

mtbr member
    Jan 2012
    Your weight requires an air fork if you want to use front suspension. The best one is a Manitou Tower Pro.
    Manitou Tower Pro Fork for Clydesdales - Techical

mtbr member
    That would work. I too am over 300lbs and ride a Carve. I had a 2010 hardrock disk that was spec'ed close to that bike and I still ride it sometimes. The fork does not lock out and I spend most of the at about 75mm of the 80 it gives. It also has X5 drivetrain, I had to get the BB tightend once but that was about it. The rims held up and it is fun to ride for a 26er. They still have the 2013's that are 29er's for about $600 with disc brakes.

Mark
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Big guys...a little help plz :)-bike.jpg  

2012 XXL Carve Expert

mtbr member
    Apr 2011