mtbr member
    Oct 2012

Big Boy Athlete Needs Some Advice!!!

Hi all,

I'm new to mountain biking and this forum. I wanted to get some advice from you experienced riders. I'm a big guy 6'3" 240 lbs, ex college football player (my playing weight was 315). Despite my size, I consider myself to be very athletic. I run 3 to 4 times a week and weightlift 2 or 3 times a week. I snowboard at a black diamond level and have done a couple of half marathons, etc etc. Needless to say, I know what it takes to push myself to that next level.

I've never been into riding a bike (most I've ever biked is 40 miles), but after reading a couple articles about how biking can help you become a better runner I decided to incorporate it into my training schedule and after a couple of weeks, I'm hooked! I went 2 weeks alternating days between running and biking and noticed my mileage and time improved in both disciplines a lot more than I expected. On my long bike days I'm doing 25 miles (up from 16 when I started) and on my long run days I've cut my half marathon pace by 25 seconds. I think my eventual goal will be to do a duathlon.

After riding a friend's mountain bike, I figure it's time for me to get one of my own. I will be doing most of my riding on paved trails, but I intend to develop true off road skills slowly. So my question is, as a bigger athletic rider, what type of bike/what things should I be considering when buying a USED mountain? I'm not looking for info directed at large people who live sedentary lives and need beginner motivation or beginner type bikes.