Thread: AZ tubby newbie

mtbr member
    Jun 2009

AZ tubby newbie

hey all want to introduce myself. been doin alil reading on the forumn, lots of good info.
    I just got a 2002 Specialized Stumpjumper M4 from the GF dad. It was a big surprise to me! Well Im just wondering if the bike will hold up to my size..almost 6' and pushing 300 =( I need to get back in shape.
    Im really new to the sport/hobby so any input will be helpful and what will help me. Put a few miles on the bike, should I have bigger tires to help carry my load? they are 26 x 1.75 now i notice that the back tire kinda bubbles out when im on it. also what air preasure should i be running?

mtbr member
    Hi there. Welcome to the forums.

There's no reason that the frame shouldn't hold up to your weight, providing it's the right size for your height. Some of the components might be a different matter. Keep an eye on the rims to make sure that they're staying in true. Also, you might want to get some bigger tires. Maybe 26x2.0? That'll be better suited to riding on dirt anyway. As far as pressure...well, I wasn't quite as heavy as you when I started riding, but I wasn't far behind either, and I was running about 50psi in my tires. You may want to experiment with that a bit, though. It's a personal preference thing.

Keep the bike well maintained and lubed, don't take it off any jumps and it should last you at least until you get well and truly hooked on the sport and upgrade. Good luck
    Last edited by Swthrtsuzy; 06-11-2009 at 09:39 AM.
    2008 Specialized Safire Comp

mtbr member
    Jun 2009
    Thanks!
    def. no jumps for me anytime soon! I just need to get the heart pumping again. I will look into gettin a larger tire to see if that help.

Fat boy Mod Moderator