mtbr member
    Mar 2007

Anyone else break chains?

I purchased a Jamis Komodo a few months back and have probably put a couple hundred dirt miles on it. This week I started riding again after a month or two of down time and in the past 3 rides/30 miles I broke the chain that was on there twice, and after replacing it, I broke another one. The new chain is the 40$ Sram one from the LBS, the old one was no-name that came on the bike.

Anyone got any tips, as I'd much prefer to ride the bike than walk it.

local trails rider
    Are your gears adjusted properly: shifting OK, not jumping or making noices, etc?
    Anything bent in the drivetrain?
    Did the chains break at a normal pin or a joint that you made?

Captain Underpants
    How did it break, exactly? What gear, seated or standing, flat or uphill . . .

mtbr member
    Mar 2007
    the first time, it broke in the chain, not at a joint. It was a pretty flat trail seated when it came apart, the second time, i believe it broke at the master link that was installed by the LBS, but I'm unsure as I threw the chain away. I don't recall the terrain.

The new chain broke at the master link installed by the LBS, This one broke standing, trying to clear a very short but steep hill.

mtbr member
    Mar 2007
    Sorry, additionally, all gears were adjusted and functioning well during the rides. I think my 34t chainring may have a slight bend in it. Could this cause it? I have had a tremendous problem keeping driveline pieces on this bike. I'm on the second cassette in 5 months, and I've already taco'd a 22t ring. I don't get it.

local trails rider
    A twisted chainring or cog could well catch on a chain.

Failure at the master link could suggest that there is something wrong there too, especially as you had two of those.

I have had a Shimano chain break (new) at a joint that the LBS made. In my case it seems that a damaged chain tool was the ultimate cause.