mtbr member

Smile Another Clyde Resurrected From the Dead

Hello Everyone!

I’ve been lurking for a while, finally decided to post my story how a former rider wound up back here after many years off.

I wasn’t sure where to put this post. Beginner’s Corner? Or Clydesdales? Or General Discussion? Or Passion? because it fits there too!?! LOL!!

A little bit about me: I’m a 35 year old dude, born/raised/still living in the Houston Texas area. I’ve been a police officer for nearly 15 years and have spent about four years specializing in Crime Scene Investigations.

I had to start my life over from scratch after my divorce in 2002 that left me with nearly nothing. Took a little over 3 years, but now I’ve built a new home for me and my 11 year old daughter who now lives with me and is my world.

I’m soon to be re-married to a spectacular woman and will be adding her 3 year old daughter, and 12 year old and 13 year old sons, to my family.

I’m kind of a newbie only because I haven’t ridden a bike in years. I rode BMX and freestyle growing up (late 70’s to mid 80’s), until I turned 16 and got a drivers license and a car….. Then the bike got tossed aside in favor of driving! LOL!

Back around 97 or 98 I bought a Schwinn Mesa hardtail at the LBS and rode it quite a bit around town. Then I started having marital problems in late 1999/2000 that put a damper on all my hobbies. Lost interest in the bike and it wound up on a hook in the garage. The marriage never got any better and in early 2002 we split up. She kept the house, which included the garage, which included the hook, which was holding the bike…… etc etc…….

Earlier this year I bought my 13 year old step son a new department store bike. It got me thinking about getting myself a bike too. I looked at the “adult” bikes at the department stores but wasn’t impressed with them at all.