mtbr member
    May 2009

Am I riding right?

I'm pretty new to MTB'ing, having started this year. I'm 6'3" 230lbs, and I ride a Cannondale F6 with an XL frame. However, when I ride, I feel like I'm riding a sport bike, and leaning pretty stinking far forward. When going down fairly steep descents, I feel like I'll flip over the bars.

I don't know if this is normal or not, but I feel like I'm just leaning too far forward.... should I be looking at getting higher bars?

mtbr member
    Aug 2007
    No expert here by any means but I feel that fit and rider position is mostly personal. If you don't like the way it feels, then change it. However, at the same time there is some advantage to some positions (you wouldn't want to be sitting straight up cruiser style in tight singletrack and you wouldn't want a high seat and to be leaning way forward if you are riding downhill, etc.....).

How high is your seat above the handlebars, I think a general rule of thumb is no more than 1", but again it's personal preference. Also, if your seat post is real high, you might want to ensure that it is not past the limit line.

mtbr member
    Jan 2009
    For some serious downhill sections, you probably should be lowering your seat (thank you quick release collars!). The idea is to put your weight behind the bike. It's not necessary to have your ass almost touching the rear tire (like in those cool downhiller pictures), but the idea is still the same. I ride a 2008 Cannondale F7 Medium at 5'9 260lbs. I have back issues, so I raised my handlebar about 3" using a steerer tube extender. I am definitely at a disadvantage on the uphills, but I am slowly lowering it as my back gets used to a flexed position.

mtbr member