mtbr member
    May 2009

6'4" 380 Newbie What Bike is Right

I'm a newbie, so please don't overwhelm me with stuff I can't understand. Will anything work off the rack, like those big bikes by zinn? Should I custom? I'm really worried about breaking spokes. One guy told me get custom wheels, that's where the stress is?

Help. My budget is under 2g.

Obviously, I'm trying to lose weight.

Big Boy

Clydeosaur
    I'm up there in weight as well although I'm about 2" shorter than you. I'm riding a mostly stock redline d440 (29" wheels, 8 speed). I have a week or so of road riding and I've been taking it on trails recently. It's holding up well so far.

The only changes I'm making are adjusting the fit/comfort of the cockpit: ergon gp-1 grips, I bought a different saddle off of ebay, and the local shop is putting a shorter stem on. I might play around with different bars but hopefully the stem/saddle swap will make it very comfortable. As it is it's rideable now, I'm just looking to dial it in some more.

Here's a link to the bike ($600 range)

http://www.redlinebicycles.com/adultbikes/d440.html

Many people are also pleased with the GT Peace 29er. If you have a performance bike shop near you it could be a pretty good deal as well ($550 price range). The website only lists small & medium frames in stock though.

http://www.performancebike.com/shop/...tegory_ID=3050

I haven't really looked at new 26" bikes recently so can't help there.

Hope this helps.

BIG and Bald
    With your height, most people will tell you to go for a 29'er. I personally still prefer to stay with 26" wheels but I'm only 6 ft tall....Anyways....