mtbr member
    May 2010

4 broken frames and 1 broken heart

Stats: 6', 245lbs, weekend warrior, even entered a couple races(just for fun category).

I started riding Mar '10 and immediately fell in love with it....but, after breaking 4 frames i'm worried that i will never have a reliable bike that will last me!

I purchased a 2010 Jamis Dakar XC Comp and broke it 3 times within 8 months. the first time Jamis replaced my chainstay with an "upgrade". the 2nd time they replaced the rear shock and chainstay. the 3rd time they gave me an upgraded frame (XCT3) and a Fox rear shock...at that point i was soooo happy that i had a stupid grin on my face for 2 hours.

I just took it back to the LBS today with a cracked chainstay on this new frame...I wont know the verdict until next week sometime.

Now, i realize that i'm not some 145lb XC racer but dang! for the cost of these bikes you would think they would hold my weight. i have read many posts on here and i see there are many riders in the 240ish range. plus, its not like i'm dropping off the roof of my house or anything, i just riding the local neighborhood trails and hitting your average roots/rocks/12" drops/ log obstacles/water crossings etc...

so, i have made the decision to sell enough blood to afford an elitus class MTB such as YETI, Santa Cruz, Transition etc.

here is my question; what do you fellow Clydesdales recommend? I'm even game for getting a DH bike and use it for the trails. With my bad back i feel i need to stick with full-suspension.

sorry for the length but i needed to vent!!!!

mtbr member
    Hardtails work really well for big guys, just dont sit down over everything and your back wont hurt.

mtbr member
    May 2010
    hmmm, i guess i could try a demo hardtail and see how it goes.

mtbr member
    Aug 2004