mtbr member
    Jul 2009

360# Biker needs advice on tires

Hey all,

Several months ago I purchased a Kona Hoss with the intent to take up riding again in an effort to lose weight and get outside more. I rode quite a lot 20+ years ago but got out of the habit after I graduated from College.

I have had a problem since the first day I purchased the bike. Every time I ride it I end up with a flat tire. I filled the tires with the hole sealant but it doesn't seem to make a difference.

I realize flat tires are a part of biking but I getting a flat within 10 minutes of starting my ride every time is frustrating.

The constant flat tires have become an excuse not to ride and I am tired of that excuse (even if it is to myself).

Does anyone have any suggestions on what I can do to alleviate this problem or am I pretty much destined to lose a bunch of weight before I start riding?

And advice you can give me would be tremendously appreciated.

Thanks,

Brian

mtbr member
    What kind of terrain are you riding on? Are they pinch flats? Make sure the tire pressure is on the high side of whatever the max is on your tires. Also, check carefully the wheel to make sure there are no sharp edges or anything that could be causing the flats. Is it the same tire every time? Are there any punctures in the actual tire or just the tube? There is something going on because even though your a big guy at 360# you shouldn't be flatting every time out in such a quick time. I am a bit over 300# and ride some pretty nasty stuff and have yet to have a flat...knock on wood.

mtbr member
    Sep 2007
    I have the same issue and I tried the slime sealant, but that just seemed to be more trouble than it's worth. I then got some 26x2.5" Maxxis hookworms, and I run them over 60psi on every ride! I was having constant flats before moving to a wider tire...I just got home from another ride, and I think that is my 10th ride on this tube! KNOCK ON WOOD!!!

My $0.02,

Tessai

I'll take you there.