mtbr member
    Aug 2009

300lbs and need advice

Hi
    I really need some advice on where to start looking for a bike that can handle my weight. I don't plan on doing any real radical trails just some light dirt and gravel. I'd need to stay under $1K. Thanks.

mtbr member
    Aug 2009
    I just want to encourage you that there are lots of options. I've been abusing my Cannondale M300 for 12 years (weighing up to 325 pounds) with no problems, other than a chain ring that couldn't take the torque of frequent hill climbing. I've flown through the air off a two foot drop off and landed full force on my front wheel and dragged my back wheel over countless obstacles. Mountain bikes are made to take great stress.

mtbr member
    Sep 2007
    I am over the 300 mark too and currently have a Haro V4, I think that they replaced the V series with the flightline though. I can only echo Sequimite's comments though, we have alot of options out there. Take your time and ask lots of questions along the way, someone here has an answer for you!!!

My $0.02,

Tessai4

29 some of the time...
    300lb is really not too bad. Biggest obstacle you will come up against is that if you do actually ride a bit the stock wheels may not hold up too well. Haro, Specialized, Kona, and Giant all have decent trail bikes for $700-1000 that are very capable of your abuse. Personally I like the Rockhopper expert disc model at $1100. I had a 2007 that I abused royally, even raced a DH race series on it. I am currently building up a 2009 model from the frame up on spare parts.
    Quote Originally Posted by saturnine
    that's the stupidest idea this side of pinkbike.

mtbr member
    Aug 2009
    AL29er reminded me that the biggest issue for Clydes on mountain bikes is stopping our momentum quickly when necessary. Disk brakes is the one feature I really wish I had on my M300.

mtbr member