Rollin' on 29s!

29er wheelset recs for less than $400?

Well, I taco'd the front wheel on my GF X-Cal the other day (Bontrager SuperStock 29er w/28 spokes). I think a lot of this was my technique (I hit a berm at a glancing angle, rather than head on).

It's gonna cost me about $80 to get my rim replaced and relaced. So, thinking of putting that money towards something that might be a bit stronger. I'm a total noob, so any recommendations for a decent, strong 29er wheelset for say under $300 or $400? I'm not a racer, and don't do anything too extreme like drops. Just want something that will be durable, and not need too much maintenance and truing. If I'm going to go this way, I'll need to know by Tuesday so I can stop the LBS from ordering the parts for wheel fix.

Thanks!

Glad to Be Alive
    bottom line.....you have not been checking your spoke tensions...that is why the rim failed....if you have the spokes coming loose all the time ...ask your mechanic for something that sticks the spokes better...some people even locktite them but you don't need that extreme
    the trick is ENJOYING YOUR LIFE EACH DAY, don't waste them away wishing for better days

Rollin' on 29s!
    Well, that may very well be. The bike was only 2 weeks old, and the spokes may have needed some tightening by then, I don't know. Or, it may have totally been my technique (or both).

In either case, the rim is hosed, and I have to spend money on something. I'm just trying to figure out if I should spend the $80 to get this rim replaced, and relaced with my existing hub and spokes, or if it would be wiser to put that money towards a "better" wheel set. If I can get something that would be a significant upgrade for another $100-$200 over what I already have to pay to get the existing one fixed, that might make sense.