mtbr member
    May 2013

2013 trek wahoo suitable for 385lb?

Hey everyone. Long story short I'm overweight and hoping to change that by getting into MTB riding. I was super motivated and put down a deposit for the half the cost on a trek wahoo 2013 29er this morning. I didnt even think until later about whether this bike could even support my weight and Im a newb to all of this so any feedback would be appreciated. thanks!

mtbr member
    Jan 2013
    the bike will be okay as a fitness tool...Meaning riding it on asphalt and groomed dirt trails until you drop some weight. It wont put up with any true rough mountain biking at your weight. A little riding everyday goes along way toward weight loss, I've lost 68lbs so far this year by eating better and biking an hour a day (was 308). good job making a move in the right direction!

mtbr member
    May 2013
    Thanks for the response. Congrats on the weight loss! Hopefully I can have the same success you've experienced.

mtbr member
    Nov 2008
    Agree that it will be sufficient for paved trail/road riding. If the shop offers free maintenance or free tune ups you may want to take it in every month or so to have them true/tension the wheels and give it a once over to make sure everything is in working order.

mtbr member
    May 2013
    Yup they actually do offer free maintenance and tune ups. Thanks for the advice as well, I can't wait to get out there and start riding!

mtbr member