mtbr member

2009 Hardrock Sport Disc / 240lbs rider

I am 5'11" 240lbs. looking at the Hardrock and want to know if it can handle my weight...

The shocks on the Hard Rock (SR Suntour SF8-XCT-V2) felt really soft with my weight on them? will they be able to put up with 235-240 lbs on them? if not would the Rockhopper
    (RockShox Dart 3 SL) upgrade be better if i could somehow squeeze it in (money wise)

i don't know if they just had them adjusted really soft, but i could always go the full travel with ease.

i don't want to spend all this money on a bike just so i have to upgrade the shocks cause i would be bottoming them out..

mtbr member
    So...I was heavier than you are when I started riding, and I had a 2009 Specialized Myka HT (The bottom of the line one). As crappy as that fork is, I never once bottomed it out. Still haven't, actually. I think it'll handle your weight, but it depends on how aggressive you are. It's not going to handle jumps, even small ones, or drops that are more than the height of a curb. If you're going to do more than that, I'd either get a different bike with a different fork, or look into replacing that one.
    2008 Specialized Safire Comp

mtbr member
    Thanks, yeah, i am definitely not doing any jumps...

i think the hard rock is the best bike for me for the money, i am just getting back into riding, maybe ride a couple days a week after work in the woods near my house.. lots of trails, i live on an escarpment.

mtbr member
    As expected I tested out the Hardrock Sport Disc, with the shocks are hard they could go before lockout and they almost bottomed out... so i wanted to try the Rockhopper but hhey didn't have any of the Rockhopper Comp Disc in stock.

I did try out the Cannondale F5, and was please with the experience..

How do these bikes compete with each other the cannondale was about $70 cheaper then the rockhopper..

Gig 'Em Aggies !