mtbr member

How much cargo tie downs & bags do you carry around? Per load or just in case?

I am new to the cargo bike scene, I just got my Trek Transport Monday, April 29th. I have made a dog food run(50lbs bag)and misc other hardware store stuff(maybe another 15lbs) and then a seperate grocery run of a week's worth of food/beverages for 4 people and my daycare crew of 4 kiddos.
    How much cargo tie downs & bags do you carry around? Per load or just in case?-image.jpg

I think for my first run, I did pretty good. It took me forever to strap it down and stuff but I figure that will come with time. The bike has the 2 side bags but I have grocery bags that I take into the store and load inside then just drop them in with gallons of milk forward and aft of each bag inside the big green bags on the bike and I also bought 2 6ft ratchet straps and 2 36" bungees for top cargo and the front rack.

Do I need anything else? Front cargo net? Basket? Misc other bags or straps? What do you guys and gals carry that you see gets used a lot for tying down or securing? Tips? Tricks?

Between my 2 grocery bags(they are huge!) and an extra bag(that held the watermelon that hung off the rear) and my straps and bungees and locks and mechanical emergency gear....I feel like I am overpacked but maybe I'm not?

BTW- I really like the 2 runs I did! Wow, it was so much fun and I really felt good about what I had chosen. Hubby is worried it won't get used enough to warrant garage space and the cost(bought used for $800 as you see in pic, not bad!) and that it would be hard to pedal. But it wasn't and the kiddo even rode with me after I got back, so then I pedaled him around for an hour after my haul!
    How much cargo tie downs & bags do you carry around? Per load or just in case?-image.jpg

mtbr member
    Apr 2006