Candlestick Maker

The Electric Pig

I've had a Mundo for a while now, mostly using it for toting the kids back and forth to the bus stop, as well as some tool carrying duties for trail work.

Getting back to my house from anywhere involves a big climb up a dirt road. As my two kids have gotten bigger, the climb has gotten ridiculous. I can still make it, but so slowly that staying upright becomes an issue.

So, I decided to electrify my Mundo. I put on a 350W front wheel disc motor kit from bmsbattery.com. Instead of going the normal Li Ion or Lifepo4 route, I decided to go with two 5s 5000mah lipo batteries wired in series for 36v and 5ah. Superlight. The whole kits adds about 6.7lbs.

Range is only about 10 miles, but that is sufficient for kid trips and messing around. I may throw on another couple lipos to increase range enough to do my commute at some point, but right now I'm just learning and having some fun.

The batteries and controller are stuffed in the small bag on the front rack in the pic below. I've since mounted the tiny controller outside of the bag on the front rack to increase airflow and cooling.

The kit can be removed within a few minutes, returning the Mundo back to pure pedal power.

Oh yeah, after having suffered up the hill so many times, riding up with the electric power just makes me laugh. Fun stuff!

Emundo1

MundoTrailWork
    Last edited by baker; 12-04-2010 at 07:04 PM.
    baker

mtbr member
    Aug 2005
    very nice! just keep your motorcycle out of my bike lane

Candlestick Maker
    Quote Originally Posted by superjohnny
    very nice! just keep your motorcycle out of my bike lane
    Thanks! With my 10 mile range, I don't think we'll be in conflict anytime soon.
    baker

mtbr member
    Hi Baker,