mtbr member

Am I asking too much???

i posted this over in the commuting section but thought it would fit better in here:

so im just getting into commuting/truck biking/being car free around town and winter has had me thinking, i will be going to school in idaho in a few weeks and wanted to build something up thats a good all around student bike, something that i could use to get to class, cruse to a friends house and go back and forth from work and get errands done. I picked up what I think is a 1992 GT Talera for $5 at a secondhand store (simular to this):
    It was a pretty good deal and I had everything laying around to fix it up, and got it in full working order, my plan is to put an xtracycle kit on it, do the home made spiked tires and slap a front fender on it... again since im new to this, would that be a good plan? would it work well and be a good all around or should i do 2 builds?

I'm just looking for opinions and weighing it out... sorry if its a dumb question.
    what would be a good full coverage front fender option? Does the xtracycle kit have a rear fender or does the deck on top act as one?

thanks!

(sorry for the huge pic its the only one i could find)

Edit: also has anyone commuted during the winter on there cargo bikes, how do they handle, so i think what im asking in all of this is would you do it?

mtbr member

Nice deal

Cool bike, Probably perfect for xtracycle. Post pics when done.

mtbr member
    Slapping an Xtracycle on a bike makes it a great winter commuter. The added length and the different weight distribution makes the bike handle better in slick conditions than a normal bicycle. It sorta' makes the slipping and sliding seem like it's happening in slow motion so you have more time to react.

The snapdeck will keep water and grime off your back but full coverage fenders are still a real good idea and there are many manufacturers and styles to choose from.