mtbr member
    Jan 2013

Mini Cooper Countryman Rear Bike Rack

Has anyone out there created a rear bike rack for the Mini Countryman using the threaded tow hook ports? I was thinking about ordering a 1UP USA rack with a blank cross bar (no welded hitch receiver) to mount to some type of cross bar that could be screwed into the rear threaded tow hook ports. I am not an engineer nor do I know what type of materials I would need to do this, so I was seeing if anyone out there has done anything like this.

mtbr member
    Apr 2009

mtbr member
    Jan 2013
    Yes, but I want to create the same concept but using 1UP USA hitch rack. I can get the hitch rack with a blank cross bar (instead of having the hitch receiver portion welded to it), but I would have to come up with sometype of cross bar to bolt the rack to and some way of bolting to the crossbar to the tow hooks.

mtbr member
    Apr 2009
    the tow hooks are reverse threaded.

Since I just disassembled my 1up (see big 1up thread for why).

So, I would imagine you needing 2 posts with reverse threaded bolts, then weld a bar to the posts... and then make something that to attach the rest of the rack to, simliar to the T-post for the hitch.

All aluminum. I'm guessing they used a 7000-series aluminum for greater strength and less weight. It's more difficult to weld compared to the common 6061-T6

if you want to sacrifice the fold down capability... and go with an overall lighter system.... maybe use their roof trays and bolt it to a cage.

mtbr member
    Jan 2009
    You could go the minidomore route and just use a standard 1-1/4 1up rack?

Mini Cooper Towing & Hauling | Hidden Trailer Receiver Hitch | MiniDoMore.com
    --------------

[WTB} 1987 Cannondale SM800, 20", Pink with airbrushed graphics.

Dirt Junkie